How to change conversation status in Front

Overview

Organizing your inboxes by conversation status is one of the key tools to working efficiently in Front, and reaching inbox zero. A horizontal conversation status bar spans across the top of your message list and message view. The conversation status bar contains:


Instructions

Actions

Take the conversation status actions listed above by navigating to the conversation status bar at the top right of a conversation. The bar will specify which inboxes or sections will be affected by your action.

Inbox tabs

Click the inbox tabs on the left of the conversation status bar to filter your inbox by conversation status. For more details on inbox tabs, see our How to use inbox tabs to filter conversations article.


How it works

After you archive, snooze, trash a conversation, or mark it as spam, you will always see it moved to the corresponding ArchivedSnoozedTrashed, or Spam tab within the inbox or section that you updated the conversation status action from.

If you are ever unsure how changing the conversation status will affect your teammates’ views, you can hover on the action to see the impact, and you may also see a dialog pop up when you change the status.

Learn more below about what exactly happens when you change a conversation’s status from various locations within Front.

Team inbox

  • When performed from a team inbox, archiving, snoozing, trashing, or marking as spam impacts anyone viewing it in the team inbox. It will appear in the corresponding Archived/Snoozed/Trashed/Spam tab of the team inbox, regardless of which teammate changed the conversation’s status.

  • However, this will not change the conversation’s status for any teammates following the conversation. The conversation will remain in the Open tab of followers' Shared with me sections.

  • If a teammate who is not the assignee changes a conversation’s status from a team inbox, then the conversation will stay open in the assignee's Assigned to me section.

  • If a conversation lives in more than one team inbox, any action taken in the conversation status bar of one inbox will have the same affect in any other team inbox(es) the conversation lives in, granted that you have not enabled the setting to keep actions separate between shared inboxes

Assigned to me

  • When you change the conversation status of a conversation assigned to you, it will move to the corresponding Archived/Snoozed/Trashed/Spam tab of both your Assigned to me section, and the Archived/Snoozed/Trashed/Spam tab of the team inbox itself.
  • Changing the conversation status as the assignee has the same impact as archiving from a team inbox-- it impacts everyone viewing in the team inbox, but does not change the conversation status for any teammates following the conversation.

Shared with me

  • When performed in your own Shared with me section, archiving, snoozing, trashing, or marking as spam will only impact your follower copy.
  • The conversation will be moved to the corresponding Archived/Snoozed/Trashed/Spam tab of your own Shared with me section, but will not affect the conversation status in any other inboxes/sections, nor for any other teammates following the conversation.

Individual inbox

  • In your individual inbox, archiving, snoozing, trashing, or marking as spam will only impact you.
  • If you've shared this conversation with any other teammates, it will not change the conversation status in your teammates’ Shared with me sections.
  • If a conversation is shared between your individual inbox and a team inbox, and you change the conversation’s status in your own individual inbox, this will not affect the conversation status in the team inbox, unless you are the assignee.

Internal discussions

  • For internal discussions, archiving, snoozing, trashing, or marking as spam will only impact your copy of the discussion.
  • If you change the conversation status of an internal discussion, this will not affect the other followers of the discussion.

Delegated inbox

  • If a teammate has delegated their inbox to you, and you archive, snooze, or trash a conversation from their individual inbox, the impact will be the same as the inbox owner changing the status themselves.
  • It will only impact their individual inbox. It will not affect the conversation status in any followers’ Shared with me sections.
  • For example, if you archive a conversation in your teammate’s delegated inbox, then look at your teammate's inbox, you'll find the conversation in the Archived tab of their individual inbox. However, if you are personally following this conversation, it will not archive the conversation in your own Shared with me section.

Teammates list

  • If you archive, snooze, or trash a conversation when viewing another teammate's Assigned conversations, it has the same impact as changing the conversation status from the team inbox.
  • It will move to the corresponding Archived/Snoozed/Trashed/Spam tab of the team inbox for everyone viewing the team inbox, but will not affect the conversation status in the assignee’s own Assigned to me section.
Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 5 mths agoLast active
  • 2533Views
  • 1 Following