Default roles and permissions [legacy]

Edited

⚠️ This article references the legacy permissions system. Front companies using the new permissions system can view the instructions here.

Overview

Front allows you to designate different levels of access to different teammates. In addition to the company admin role, there are two default teammate roles: 

  1. Workspace admin

  2. Member

The permissions of these default roles cannot be edited. The default roles are available on all plans. However, you can create custom roles and permissions for your teammates if you're on the latest Enterprise plan. 


Workspace admin & member roles

The table below lists the permissions that are granted to teammates using Front’s default workspace admin and member roles.

Conversations

Workspace admin

Member

Messages - send

✅

✅

Comment - send

✅

✅

Conversations - assign

✅

✅

Conversations - archive

✅

✅

Conversations - Delete / mark as spam

✅

✅

Conversations - move

✅

✅

Conversations / messages - delete permanently

✅

 

Inboxes

 

 

Shared inboxes - create / edit / delete / manage access

✅

 

Contacts

 

 

Team contacts - block sender


Note: Contact access is also controlled by teammate groups

✅

✅

Tags

 

 

Shared tags - create / edit / archive / delete

✅

✅

Apply / remove tags to conversations

✅

✅

Custom views [legacy]

 

 

Custom views [legacy] - create / edit / delete

✅

 

Templates

 

 

Shared templates and folders - create / edit / delete

✅

✅

Signatures

 

 

Shared signatures - create / edit / delete

✅

 

Analytics

 

 

Access analytics

✅

 

Edit analytics

✅

Sequences

 

 

Access sequences

✅

✅

Teammates

 

 

Teammates - invite / manage

✅

 

Rules and macros

 

 

Rules and macros - create / edit / delete

✅

 

Roles and permissions

 

 

Roles - create / edit / delete

✅

 


Company admin role

The company admin role is the highest level of access in Front. To enable this role for a teammate, a company admin can click on the gear icon, then click Teammates in company settings. Select the teammate, toggle on their company admin status, then save.

The following company-level settings available to company admins only:

*These features are available on the latest Enterprise plan. Some legacy plans may also have these features.


Pricing

The workspace admin and member roles are available on all plans.

Enterprise plans with the custom user permission roles feature can create additional custom roles. Some legacy plans may also have this feature.