How to use @mentions in comments
When you need some help from a teammate, you can just @mention them in a comment instead of forwarding them the email to create a separate email thread or pinging them in Slack. The internal discussion is saved right on within the Front conversation for future reference, so everyone can see what’s going on.
After you @mention a teammate in your comment, the conversation will appear in their Shared with me section.
How it works
Mention one teammate
You can mention specific teammates by using the @ symbol within the comments section of a conversation. This person will be notified according to their notification settings and the conversation will appear in their Shared with me section.
Typing the @ symbol will show your top 5 most commonly mentioned teammates. As you type in their name, the suggestions list will adjust.
Mention your whole Team
You can mention everyone on your Team using @all, and every teammate will be notified, and the conversation will appear in their Shared with me section. Note that @all will only notify teammates with access to the inbox where that conversation lives.
Mention a custom group
You can also create an @mention shortcut that will mention a specific group of people, using rules. For instance, this rule will allow you to use the mention @cx to notify the teammates listed below.
Mention teammate from another Team
If your company has multiple Teams, then you are able to @mention teammates from any Team in the comments of a team inbox conversation. If a teammate is not a member of the Team, their name will be marked with Not in team in the autosuggest menu.
Mentioning a teammate from another Team will give them access to the conversation. Before posting your comment, you will be prompted to confirm that you'd like to share the conversation with them.
Mentions in private inboxes
Mentioning a specific teammate in a conversation from a private inbox will prompt a dialog offering you to invite the teammate to this conversation. This will not give your teammate's ability to read other conversations from your private inbox, or to send messages in your name.
Using @all in your private inbox will not mention anyone, unless:
- This conversation already has participants. In that case the existing participants will get notified by the @all mention.
- Your inbox is delegated to teammates. In that case the teammates to whom you've delegated your inbox will get notified by the @all mention.
Mention an external guest
Front allows you to share conversations with people outside of your organization by @mentioning them in the comments. For more information about inviting external guests, check out this article!