How to remove a channel or delete an inbox

Overview

When managing team or individual inboxes, you may need to delete inboxes or remove channels. Let's first understand the difference between the two:

Inbox

An inbox is an organizational structure that can house one or more channels within. An empty inbox functions like a shared folder that teammates can move conversations into. 

When you delete an inbox:

  • All existing conversation history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored.
  • This action will not delete emails in your Office 365/Gmail account.

Channel

A channel is the actual account that you are adding in to the inbox; which could be email, SMS, Twitter, Facebook, etc. You can have multiple channels and channel types within one inbox. 

When you remove a channel:

  • All existing conversation history will remain in the inbox.
  • The connection between Front and your channel will be removed. Future messages will not appear in the Front inbox.
  • All drafts associated with the channel will be removed.
  • The channel will be removed from the Channel access section in signature preferences. See here for instructions on reselecting channels for signatures
  • Personal preference selections for the channel such as Default channel and Default video conference will be reset.

Remove a channel

When you remove a channel, the history will remain in the inbox but the connection will be removed. If you want to delete all the conversations in the inbox instead, see section below on deleting inboxes.

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company or Personal settings tab, depending on which space you are working with. Admins can also access user settings by following these steps.

Step 2

Click into the Inboxes section and on the inbox containing the channel you want to remove.

Step 3

Click on the Channels section and click on the channel to expand its settings menu.

Step 4

Scroll down to the bottom and click Remove this channel.

Step 5

You'll see a confirmation window. Click Remove this channel again. Note: while removing a channel will not delete your inbox history, when you remove a channel you will lose any drafts associated with the channel.

Step 6 (optional)

You will land back in the inbox settings. If you'd like, you can add a channel back into the inbox any time by going to the Channels settings for the inbox. Select a channel type and follow the prompts to add a new channel to the existing inbox.

Note: When you add a channel back, the signature preferences for that channel will not be restored. See here for instructions on setting up a default signature for a channel.


Delete an inbox

When you delete an inbox, all the history within the inbox will be deleted and cannot be restored. If you do want to retain your conversation history but no longer get new emails into the inbox, see the section above on removing channels.

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company or Personal settings tab, depending on which space you are working with. Admins can also access user settings by following these steps.

Step 2

Click into the Inboxes section and on the inbox you want to delete.

Step 3

Click on the Settings section of the inbox.

Step 4

At the bottom, select Delete inbox.

Step 5

You will see a confirmation screen telling you that all conversations in the inbox will be deleted forever and it cannot be undone. Type the name of this inbox to confirm. Select Delete this inbox to delete.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 6 mths agoLast active
  • 6013Views
  • 1 Following