How to snooze conversations for later or follow-up

Overview

Ever wish you could hide a message in your inbox until later, or make a sent message reappear for follow-up? With snooze, you can set a time for conversations to reopen in your inbox exactly when you want them to. There are two ways to snooze a conversation:

  1. Snoozing the conversation using the clock icon at the top of the conversation.
  2. Using the Send & Snooze button in your composer when you send a message.

How it works

When you snooze a conversation:

  • It moves to the Snoozed tab of the inbox, and will reappear in your Open tab at the exact time and date you want.
  • Snoozing from a shared inbox will snooze the conversation for all teammates, and snoozing from any tabs in the Me section of your sidebar will snooze the conversation for only you. To learn more, check out this article.
  • If a recipient replies before your snooze expires, the conversation will reopen in your inbox, and automatically cancel the snooze. You can re-set the same snooze with one click.

Snooze for later

Snooze a conversation if you want to handle it later. This is helpful if you need to return to this task in the future, but want to remove it from your inbox for the time being-- so that you can use your inbox as a true to do list.

To snooze a conversation, click the clock icon at the top of the conversation and choose from the list of times, or set a custom Day & Time. The clock icon will turn orange once the snooze is active.


Send & Snooze for follow-up

Send & Snooze is one of the four sending options in the composer. Using Send & Snooze helps you remember to follow up on important messages, especially if you're waiting to hear back from a customer. Sending with Send & Snooze allows a conversation to reopen at a specific time, and helps bring visibility to the conversation, even if you don't receive a reply.

To Send & Snooze a specific message, click the dropdown arrow on your Send button to manually choose Send & Snooze. The message will send as soon as you click a snooze time.

You can also set Send & Snooze as your default send button. See here for more information.


Managing your snoozes

Custom snooze times

You can curate your snooze menu by creating custom snooze times. Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Personal settings tab. Click into the Snoozes tab to customize your snooze times.

Click Add a snooze to add a new snooze timing to the list. You can also click on any of the existing snooze timings, and edit the name/timing.

Once you've saved your custom snooze time, it will appear in the list of snooze timing options whenever you snooze a conversation.

How to find snoozed conversations

To see snoozed messages, simply click the Snoozed tab at the top of any inbox or tag in your sidebar.

You can also use the Snoozed option in the search bar dropdown to locate snoozed conversations in the currently selected inbox, or in All inboxes. You are also able to use the search condition is:snoozed when searching your inboxes.

Cancel a snooze

To manually cancel a snooze after you’ve set it, simply click the active (orange) snooze clock icon and click Unsnooze.

Reset the snooze

If your recipient replies to a message before your snooze timer expires, the snooze will be canceled automatically. To reset the same snooze again, click the blue hyperlink Snooze again until… This will reset the same snooze with one click.


Location of snoozed conversations

The impacts of snoozing a conversation vary based on who snoozes the conversation, and where they snooze it from.

To learn more about what happens when you snooze a conversation from various locations, check out this article.

37replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • Lemuel Chanadmin
    • Customer Support Representative
    • Lemuel_Chan
    • 2 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    John Fabrega Appreciate your enthusiasm here, we record the vote (+1) per customer but will add more votes when other users are reporting this as well :) 

    Like
  • GMail has a snooze option called "Last date/time"

    When clicked it quickly snoozes the email for the same time as the last selected "Day & Time"

    If you could add this it would save a lot of time for power snooze users who need to snooze multiple emails for the same time.

  • Is there an easy way to re-order snooze times in the list?
    If not, could one be added?

    Thanks
     

    Like
  • Robert McLister Thanks for the feedback! Though neither of these options are currently available, I've added them as feature requests to be considered as we continue to make improvements to Front. 

    Like
  • @robert I had asked the same question was  told that when displayed as choices it automatically displays from soonest to most distant. Once I understood that it mad more sense. I do wish that the popup showed more choices without scrolling.

    I'll +1 (like) your suggestions if you'll +1 mine farther above =)

    Like
  • John Fabrega 

    You’re absolutely right. Just realized that. In that case I’ll retract my suggestion. 
    Cheers

    Like
  • Jessye Levy I see they’re ordered by time. So my request is no longer necessary. Thanks nonetheless. 

    Like
  • Wonderful, thank you both! 

    Like
  • I've recently started seeing some of my snoozes get archived. Are snoozes technically archived until reopened? Trying to understand because this will help me with creating a certain rule. I want the trigger to be when snoozed, but there's no option for that!

    Like
    • Helena Liadmin
    • Support Program Manager
    • Helena_Li
    • 2 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Hi Debra Gunn - thanks for your question! The rule engine actually does not count the snooze action to be the same as the "When archived" trigger, and you're correct that we do not have a "When snoozed" trigger so this is not possible in the rule engine. I've added a feature request for this trigger for you! If you have any specific questions on building a rule or workflow, feel free to email us at support@frontapp.com so that we can help with specific suggestions for you!

    Like
  • When I szoone a conversation,  how do the metrics/analytics works in this case?

    Like
    • Lemuel Chanadmin
    • Customer Support Representative
    • Lemuel_Chan
    • 1 yr ago
    • Reported - view

    Mikele Guedes If you snooze a conversation, Front will treat it similarly as if the conversation was archived. However, with SLA rules, the SLA timer continues to run while the conversation is Snoozed. So snoozing a conversation will not pause or reduce the reply time.

    Additional articles you can reference: 

    https://help.frontapp.com/t/q6hh1bw/sla-rules#does-snoozing-extend-an-sla-rules-timer

    https://help.frontapp.com/t/x2hlqbh/closed-workload

    Like
Like Follow
  • 1 mth agoLast active
  • 37Replies
  • 9932Views
  • 18 Following