Sending options in your composer

Edited

Overview

You have various options in Front for sending messages, available in the dropdown arrow next to the Send button. This allows you to save time while sending so that you are using the option that matches your workflow. You can also set up a default send button while having the option to change it before sending the message.


Sending options

Send

When selecting Send, you're only replying to the message and not archiving it. The thread will remain open in your inbox. Use Send when an issue you are handling is still open, or you want to take more actions on it such as commenting, tagging, or assigning it.

If you're using ticket statuses, you'll see Send as open or other custom statuses.

Send & archive

Selecting Send & archive means that you've replied to the message and closed the issue until your recipient writes back. The conversation will be removed from your Open tab, but can be viewed again through search or in your Archived tab in the inbox.

If you're using ticket statuses, you'll see Send as resolved or other custom statuses.

Send later

Selecting Send later allows you to schedule an email to be sent at a later time. Maybe you're working over the weekend, and don't want to send emails because they'll get buried in your recipient's inbox. By using Send later, you can ensure they receive it during business hours.

Upon clicking Send later, you can select when you want the message to be sent from a list of pre-set times configured in your preferences, or input a custom time:

As soon as you select the time, your message will show that it's scheduled to send later at the time you've selected. You can also cancel or reschedule this any time before the message sends.

Helpful to know:

  • Conversations stays open: When using this feature, the message will remain open in your inbox even after it is sent. You can manually archive it once it has sent. 

  • Viewing drafts: The message will be located in your Drafts folder. Teammates can view the scheduled message in a shared inbox if it was drafted in a conversation from that inbox.

Send & snooze

Selecting Send & snooze allows you to set a time for the conversation to reopen if your recipient does not reply, which is helpful when you want to ensure you follow up on the message. Once you select the Send & snooze, you'll be asked to choose the snooze time, or the time that you want the conversation to reopen. Like the Send later option, you can also create custom snooze times.

If the customer responds before the snooze time, the snooze will automatically be canceled, but you can reapply the snooze with one click if you still want it.

If you're using ticket statuses, you'll still see Send & snooze, and snoozed conversations will be visible in the Waiting tab.


Set default send button

You can set your preferred send button as the default in personal preferences, which will apply only to your account. You can still select a different option before sending any message.

If you're using ticket statuses, see this article to learn how these settings map to ticket statuses.

Step 1

Click the gear icon, navigate to personal settings, then select Preferences from the left menu.

Step 2

In the Send button option, choose your preferred default send button.

Step 3

Click Save.