How to move conversations to another inbox
Moving a conversation is helpful when you want to pass a conversation on to another team. Unlike traditional email forwarding, moving a conversation from one inbox to another offers a seamless way to hand off a thread and make sure that your customer is being helped by the most appropriate team.
How it works
- You can move any team inbox conversation to any other team inbox.
- You can move a conversation from your private inbox to a shared inbox, or into another one of your private inboxes.
- You cannot move a conversation from a shared inbox into a private inbox.
There are two methods to move conversations between inboxes, explained below.
The drag-and-drop method is the fastest and easiest way to move conversations to team inboxes you have access to.
To drag and drop, click on the conversation you want to move and drag it to the appropriate team inbox.
The search-and-select method is particularly useful if you'd like to move conversations to inboxes you don't have access to, or to inboxes that are not visible in your sidebar.
To move a conversation to another inbox, simply click the inbox name at the top left of the conversation, and choose or search for the destination inbox.
Move conversations in bulk
Move to is one of the mass actions you can take in your inbox. For more information, check out our this article.
Can I move a shared conversation back to private?
Once a private conversation has been moved to a shared inbox, there is no way to make it private again.
If you are an admin, a workaround would be to create a shared empty inbox that only you have access to, and move the conversation into the empty inbox. Keep in mind that other admins will still be able to edit teammate access to the empty inbox.
How do I reply if a conversation moves between Teams?
If you have access to both the original inbox in the old Team, and the destination inbox in the new Team, then you will always be able to reply with the original channel.
If you do not have access to the original inbox, but have access to the new inbox, then you may or may not be able to reply using the original channel, depending on if the original channel has the All teammates can reply setting enabled; see here for more information.
Can I automatically move conversations into a different inbox?
Yes, you can create rules that move certain conversations into other inboxes by using Move to a specific inbox as your THEN action.
Helena Li It does but it doesn't, because there are thousands of conversations. And after moving them, it unassigns and opens them up.
It was suggested to me that we ask our team members to just "retire" the folder by clicking the "eyeball" so it doesn't clutter their view, but still be able to see those conversations in a search.
Steve Shackley Hi Steve, rules are not retroactive, so they aren't able to work on historical conversations that you've already archived. However, moving forward, you could create a rule that will move your conversations upon archiving. The rule would say something like "When archived, if inbox ___, then move to inbox ___." This will catch the archived conversations moving forward, but the historical archived conversations will need to be moved using the "move channel" method or by bulk selecting and moving manually.
Auto-archive emails on "move"
This very basic rule was helpful to me when moving a few thousand messages from one inbox to another.
I still had to manually (cmd + select) thousands of emails, but at least I didn't have to go to the new inbox and archive all of them afterward.
Hope this helps someone!