How to use inbox tabs to filter conversations

Overview

Each inbox in Front has a set of tabs that filter conversations by status, such as open, archived, trashed, and more. Changing a conversation's status will move the conversation between the appropriate tabs.

Tabs are mutually exclusive lists of conversations, but you can view multiple tabs at once by holding down COMMAND or SHIFT for Mac or CTRL for Windows, and clicking the tabs you want to view.

To review additional filtering and sorting options, check out these articles:


Individual inbox tabs

Your individual inbox uses the following tabs to filter conversations:

  • Open: Conversations that are not archived or snoozed and need action.
  • Archived: Conversations you have archived.
  • Snoozed: Conversations you have snoozed for follow-up later.
  • Trash: Conversations you have trashed from the Me section in your sidebar.
  • Spam: Conversations your email provider has marked as spam or that you have marked as spam in Front.

Shared inbox tabs

Like your individual inbox, each shared inbox has tabs to filter conversations by status. You have two options for the shared inbox tabs you can display:

Option 1: Unassigned/Assigned view

These are the default tabs for your shared inboxes:

  • Unassigned: Conversations that have not been assigned to a teammate and still open.
  • Assigned: Conversations that are assigned to a teammate and still open.
  • Archived: Conversations that someone archives in the shared inbox.
  • Snoozed: Conversations that someone snoozes in the shared inbox.
  • Trash: Conversations that someone has trashed in the shared inbox. 
  • Spam: Conversations your email provider has marked as spam or that someone has marked as spam in the shared inbox in Front.

Option 2: Open view

This option combines the Unassigned and Assigned tabs from Option 1 into one Open tab, which shows all of these conversations in one tab.

  • Open: All unarchived conversations, both assigned and unassigned.
  • Archived: Conversations that someone archives in the shared inbox.
  • Snoozed: Conversations that someone snoozes in the shared inbox.
  • Trash: Conversations that someone has trashed in the shared inbox. 
  • Spam: Conversations your email provider has marked as spam or that someone has marked as spam in the shared inbox in Front.

How to change your shared inbox tab options

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Personal settings tab. Click on the Preferences section and scroll to or search for Shared inbox tabs. Use the dropdown menu to select the view you want, then click Save. Your counters for the shared inboxes will also update to match your tab preference.


Multi-select inbox tabs

Press Shift on your keyboard and select two inbox tabs to view conversations from multiple tabs in a single list. You can also press CMD (Mac) or CTRL (Windows) and select specific inbox tabs.

Reply