How to use teammate templates

Overview

Teammate templates make setting up new users simple. Add templates
for common roles in your company, like Account Manager or Support Agent, with all the settings they need to get work done in Front. When you hire someone new, use the template to set them up with the configuration they need in a few clicks.

You can also clone settings from an existing teammate.


Instructions

Create or edit teammate templates

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company settings tab. Go to the Teammates section, then click Teammate templates.

Step 2

You will see a list of all teammate templates to edit them, or click Add a template create a new one.

Step 3

Give your template a recognizable name, like the role of the user it will be used for. You can also choose to clone an existing teammate's settings to create the template.

Step 4

Click Save

Step 5

From here, edit the template's team inbox access, preferences, message templates, signatures, notification settings, and more. Click Save when you are done. You can also go back to edit templates at any time.

If you need to clone any custom field settings, select the custom fields in the Custom fields cloning teammate template preference. You can set the default custom field values in the Custom fields menu on the left.

Use a template to invite a new user

Teammate templates make setting up new users simple through cloning

Step 1

When adding a new user, click the dropdown for Clone from teammate.

 

Step 2

Your teammate templates will show up at the top of the list. Choose your template and finish inviting the user to configure their settings with the template.

Note

Cloning from a teammate template works the same way as cloning from a regular teammate. However, regular users often update their preferences or gain new permissions as they use Front more and more, so they may not reflect the configuration you want for the new user. Teammate templates are designed to allow you to control your new user settings to ensure they are configured correctly. 

Company templates vs. Team templates

Team templates can be created at both the company level and the team level. Both serve the same function, but have some key differences:

  • You can't update the Company admin setting from templates on the team level
  • You can't update permissions about Team B from Team A on the team level
  • When inviting a teammate on the team level and using the “From other team” tab, you are not cloning the Company admin setting from the template (same when cloning a teammate)
  • When inviting a teammate on the team level and using the “From other team” tab from Team A, you are not cloning permissions for Team B (same when cloning a teammate)


Pricing

This feature is available on the Scale plan. Some legacy plans with different names may also have this feature. You are not billed per teammate template that you create.

Reply Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
Like Follow
  • 5 mths agoLast active
  • 2316Views
  • 1 Following