How to move a channel from one inbox to another
Front allows you to move a channel from one individual inbox to another individual inbox, or from one shared inbox to another shared inbox. If you have multiple Teams, you can move channels across Teams.
Moving a channel to another inbox will transfer the conversation history attached to that channel, for all conversations currently residing in the inbox associated with the channel. This means that conversations moved out of the inbox associated with the channel will not be automatically moved.
How it works
- Make sure that all teammates who need to use the channel have access to the destination inbox.
- If you would like to move a channel to a brand new inbox, you will need to create an empty inbox before moving the channel. For steps on adding a new team inbox, check out this article.
Helpful to know
- When you move the channel, conversations will retain their conversation history, status, tags, assignees, and participants.
If you are moving a channel from one Team to another Team, you will need to take the following steps before moving the channel:
- Ensure that the teammate moving the channel is a member of the destination team.
- Create an empty inbox in the destination Team. For steps on adding a new team inbox, check out this article.
- Make sure that all teammates who need access to the inbox are members of the destination Team, and give them access to the newly created inbox.
Helpful to know
- Conversations will retain their conversation status and history.
- Conversations will retain their assignees. If an assignee is not a member of the destination Team, they will still have access to the conversation after the channel is moved.
- Conversations will retain their participants. If a participant is not a member of the destination Team, they will still have access to the conversation after the channel is moved. However, if a participant mutes the conversation, and they are not a member of the destination Team, they will lose access to the conversation.
- Any tags currently applied to conversations will not move when moving the channel to a different Team. Tags will need to be manually recreated in the destination team.
Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company or Personal settings tab, depending on which space you are working with. Admins can also access user settings by following these steps.
Click on Inboxes on the left menu and select the inbox containing the channel you want to move.
Expand the channel menu to see all the settings, and click on the Move channel button at the bottom.
Select the destination inbox the channel needs to be moved to and then click Move channel to confirm. Any new messages that are sent to the channel will be in the new selected inbox.