How to move a channel from one inbox to another

Edited

Overview

Front allows you to move a channel from one individual inbox to another individual inbox, or from one shared inbox to another shared inbox. If you have multiple workspaces, you can move channels across workspaces.

Moving a channel to another inbox will transfer the conversation history attached to that channel, for all conversations currently residing in the inbox associated with the channel. This means that conversations moved out of the inbox associated with the channel will not be automatically moved.


How it works

Same workspace

Preparation

Helpful to know

  • When you move the channel, conversations will retain their conversation history, status, tags, assignees, and participants.

Different workspaces

Preparation

If you are moving a channel from one workspace to another workspace, you will need to take the following steps before moving the channel:

  • Ensure that the teammate moving the channel is a member of the destination workspace.

  • Create an empty inbox in the destination workspace. For steps on adding a new shared inbox, check out this article.

  • Make sure that all teammates who need access to the inbox are members of the destination workspace, and give them access to the newly created inbox.

Helpful to know

  • Conversations will retain their conversation status and history.

  • Conversations will retain their assignees. If an assignee is not a member of the destination workspace, they will still have access to the conversation after the channel is moved.

  • Conversations will retain their participants. If a participant is not a member of the destination workspace, they will still have access to the conversation after the channel is moved. However, if a participant unsubscribed from the conversation, and they are not a member of the destination workspace, they will lose access to the conversation.

  • Any tags currently applied to conversations will not move when moving the channel to a different workspace. Tags will need to be manually recreated in the destination workspace.


Instructions

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the top right of Front and into the Company or Personal settings tab, depending on which space you are working with. Admins can also access user settings by following these steps.

Step 2

Click Channels on the left menu and select the channel you want to move.

Step 3

Click Edit default inbox, then use the dropdown to select the new default inbox the channel will route messages to. Click Save changes.

Step 4

Any new messages that are sent to the channel will be in the new selected inbox, which displays in the channel routing chart.