Company rules are rules that can be applied to all individual or shared inboxes. They are used to centralize management of individual rules that would need to be duplicated across all users. Company rules can only be set by company admins.
Company rules fundamentals
Company rules are rules that can target all individual or shared inbox. They exist to help manage rules that you would need to duplicate across all users.
For instance, imagine you want to consolidate all communications with a VIP client in a shared inbox, but that client often sends emails to individual inboxes. You can create a company rule that moves all inbound emails from email@example.com to a "VIP client" team inbox.
Without company rules, you would need to implement the same logic in an individual rule for every user, which can be time consuming and challenging to maintain.
Company rules triggers are the same as individual or team rules.
Company rules have three new filters:
- All individual inboxes: rule will apply to all individual inboxes
- All team inboxes: rule will apply to all team inboxes
- Inbox belongs to: rule will apply to the inbox(es) you select
In addition, company rules filters can not use private tags or private contact lists. They can use team tags, team contact list, and company contact lists.
Company rules actions can not use private inboxes, tags or contact lists. They can use shared inboxes, team tags, team contact lists, and company contact lists.
Ordering between company rules and individual/team rules
Company rules will always have priority over individual or team rules and behave exactly as if they were ordered before all other rules. You can also re-order your company rules amongst themselves using arrows or numbered positions, like other rules.
Company rules triggering other rules
Company rules will trigger other individual or team rules, except for two cases:
- When the conversation is moved from an individual team inbox to a team inbox or between Teams.
- Company rules using a delayed-rule condition, such as Unreplied after 5 hours, cannot trigger team or individual rules.
Stop processing on company rules and how it affects individual/team rules
Because company rules take precedence over individual/team rules if a company rule is run that has 'Stop Processing' selected, subsequent individual/team rules will not run.
Company rules exceptions
Archive/Delete actions function a bit differently for company rules. When a conversation is in multiple inboxes:
- The IF condition of the rule is tested for each inbox individually. If it is not verified for an inbox, nothing happens. If it is verified for a given inbox, the action will then be:
- In an individual inbox whose owner is not the assignee for the conversation, the company rule will archive/delete the conversation for the owner of the inbox only.
- In an individual inbox whose owner is the assignee for the conversation, nothing happens
- In a team inbox, the company rule will archive/delete the conversation in the shared inbox.
A message is sent both to firstname.lastname@example.org (an individual inbox owned by Bob) and email@example.com (a shared inbox).
Company rule #1: WHEN Inbound message, IF All individual inboxes, THEN Archive conversation
Company rule #2: WHEN Inbound message, IF All team inboxes, THEN Archive conversation
Company rule #3: WHEN Inbound message, IF All individual inboxes OR All team inboxes, THEN Archive conversation
Company rule #1 would archive the conversation only for Bob. Company rule #2 would archive in firstname.lastname@example.org, but Bob would still see it in his Inbox. Company rule #3 would archive it in both the individual and shared inboxes. If the conversation is assigned to Bob, Company rule #1 would do nothing and Company rule #3 would only archive in the team inbox, not for Bob's individual inbox.
How to exclude inboxes from all company rules
For very sensitive inboxes ("HR complaints" for instance), company rules could in theory threaten confidentiality.
You can make sure such inboxes are excluded from Company rules by toggling off the Company rules affect this inbox setting from the inbox's settings.
Delayed-rule conditions and business hours
While company rules can use delayed rule conditions, business hours won't apply. Business hours are team-specific or inbox-specific, while company rules can apply to multiple teams and individual inboxes.
This feature is available on the Scale plan. Some legacy plans with different names may also have this feature.